A League: four-week finals and two-game semi-finals to reward top teams


Finishing first in the A-League season will have more advantages than just lifting the Premier’s Plate after a big adjustment in the Final.

A new A-League Finals system is in place to further reward teams that finish first and second and give them two chances to make their way to the Grand Final.

The easing of border restrictions across the country allowed authorities to release the full 26-round season schedule, culminating with a four-week finals run and the grand finale on May 28.

Officials had previously blocked only the first six rounds, which will always be played in a conference system, with one match, in the first round, scheduled for Perth.

Perth Glory has received most of its home games at the end of the season, and Wellington Phoenix, who will be based in New South Wales for much of the season, could still play at home in New Zealand. , potentially from January. 29 and over.

In the new six-team finals format, the third will host the sixth and the fourth will host the fifth in the one-off playoff finals to start the playoffs.

The winners will then face the teams ranked first and second over two rounds in the semi-finals instead of a playoff match. The winners of these matches, which will be determined by the cumulative scores of the two matches, will advance to the grand final on May 28.

“The new format rewards teams that finish first and second by eliminating the unique semi-finals, and it rewards fans who we know love final football,” said A-League commissioner Greg O ‘ Rourke.

“Playing the semi-final at home and away will add drama for the fans.”

The 2021/22 season will feature the inaugural Club Championship, awarded to the most successful club in the men’s and women’s leagues.

It follows the merger of the two competitions, as well as the Men’s Youth League, which now both operate under a unified “A-Leagues” banner.

“This season is a historic moment for football in Australia,” said O’Rourke.

“We’re proud to be able to deliver another full, action-packed season for fans to access in more ways than ever before.”

The men’s League A season kicks off with defending champions Melbourne City hosting Brisbane Roar on November 19 at AAMI Park.

The A-League has yet to confirm the ground capabilities of venues across the country all of which could be affected by different state directives.


Playoff finals

May 6-8, 2022

Team 3 vs. Team 6

Team 4 vs. Team 5

Semi finals

May 13-15

1 v winner of the lowest ranked elimination final (stage 1)

2 v highest ranked EF winner (stage 1)

May 20-22

1 v lowest ranked EF winner (stage 2)

2 v highest ranked EF winner (stage 2)


May 28

Winner semi-final 1 vs. winner semi-final 2


About Author

Leave A Reply