Midfielder Oliver wins coveted Demons gong


Melbourne star midfielder Clayton Oliver capped an outstanding year, winning his third Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy in the Demons’ victorious season.

The 24-year-old has finished first in the club’s best and fairest tally with 670 votes, making him one of the Seven Demons to win the award three or more times.

Christian Petracca (644 votes) was second, Captain Max Gawn (542 votes) third.

Oliver averaged 32 eliminations per game, while leading the league in contested possessions (434) and having the second most clearances (186).

He adds to the already impressive 2021 list of honors from the former No.4 draft pick, having won a second All Australian blazer, the AFLCA Champion Player of the Year award and a third place in the World Cup tally. Brownlow medal.

Senior coach Simon Goodwin said the result was fitting recognition for another stellar season.

“To receive the best and fairest award in a winning team is an incredible honor, and Clayton should be very proud,” he said.

“He has worked incredibly hard on his game over the past few seasons, so it is no coincidence that he is now being recognized for his efforts. His consistency and influence on the pitch are second to none.”

Petracca, who won last year’s trophy, placed first for 50s indoors, fifth for contested possessions and 10th for assignments overall in the competition during the 2021 season .

Medalist Norm Smith stood out in the Demons’ final campaign, averaging 34 eliminations in each of three games while finishing the series with five goals.

He also earned a second All-Australian selection this season, as well as 23 votes for the Brownlow medal.

Gawn recorded 805 hit-outs and 114 clearances en route to becoming Premier’s captain and five-time All Australian.

Gawn’s impact on the playgroup was recognized when the 29-year-old received the Goodwin Leadership Award.

Keith “Bluey” Truscott Memorial Trophy:

Clayton Oliver – 670 votes

Christian Petracca – 644

Max Gawn – 542

Christian Salem – 522

Jake Lever – 498

Ed Langdon – 487

Steven May – 431

Alex Neal Bullen – 421

Tom McDonald – 408

Kysaiah Pickett – 408


About Author

Comments are closed.